Our $4 Pizza Feast!!!

Image

What family doesn’t enjoy Pizza on a Friday night?  Ours certainly does!  Pizza for a family of six is no small expense.  One large Pepperoni  Pizza + One medium veggie pizza + garlic cheese bread + marinara sauce would be an easy $30.  My new “stay at home mom” title has helped me to take a new look at where our money is going, so this week (being my first week at home full-time without any kiddos) I set out to save some big $$$.

So I know you’re thinking-$4? Seriously?  YES, Seriously!  Here’s how I did it:

 .50       Estimated cost of the flour, salt ,garlic, baking powder, oil, milk  (All of these items are staples that I have on hand at all times.)

1.00      Cost of one 8 oz bag of mozzarella cheese or Italian blend of cheese (SUPER deal.  Cheese has been on super sale recently- I have 8 bags in my fridge right now! The most I ever pay for shredded cheese is 1.80.  It can always be found on sale somewhere. If you can’t find yours as cheap as I did, this will only slightly effect the price of this meal to no more than $5 total.

 .65      Cost of two cans of tomatoe sauce

 .60      Cost of the pepperoni (I bought a bag for 1.80, and only used 1/3 of it)

 .50      Cost of one can of mushrooms

 .75      Cost of one can of olives

This makes a huge amount of food.  Our family of 6 ate all we wanted, and we still had leftovers!

The whole crust making event turned into quite an adventure.  After making my first batch, I looked at my beautiful crusts baking to perfection in the oven and thought…”I should make another batch and make another pizza and cheesy garlic bread”.  After that batch was baking to perfection in the oven, I thought…”I bet that would make the perfect crust for home-made pot pie” And of course…you guessed it…we had pot-pie that night!  (The pot pie recipe will be coming soon-it’s amazing and easy!)

I’ve included three recipes in this post   1) Magic Crust Recipe

                                                                     2) Pizza Sauce/ Marinara Sauce Recipe

                                                                     3) Cheesy Garlic Bread Recipe

Here’s the multi-purpose “Magic Crust Recipe”  (adapted from several I found that do not require yeast!)

2 1/4  cups flour *the original recipe called for 2 cups flour, so you can start with that if you like. I added a small   amount more to reach a consistency that I liked.

3/4-1&1/2 tsp salt (You may want less salt, it depends on what you are making)

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 cup oil

2/3 cup milk

*MIX dry ingredients until blended well.  Add milk and oil, and stir until a nice dough ball is formed.  Flour the surface you will be working with, and lay the dough on the counter, and kneed several times.  Use a rolling pin, if you have one to roll out the dough to the desired size.

*Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.

*Lightly oil the top of the crust, and place in the oven.  Bake for several minutes until lightly golden brown.  Remove from oven and allow to cool.

One batch makes a perfect crust for a 12×16 rectangular pizza or 2 12″ round pizzas.  I made two batches, and made a rectangular pepperoni pizza and a round vegetable pizza, and a garlic cheese bread.

Image

Once cooled, you can top the crust with the pizza sauce/marinara sauce(see recipe below), then with mozzarella cheese or an Italian blend of cheese, and your choice of topping.  I froze these pizzas and baked them today, straight out of the freezer. Heat the oven to 400 degrees and bake until lightly golden and the cheese is melted.  DEEELISH!

PIZZA SAUCE/MARINARA SAUCE

2 cans tomato sauce (4oz each)

2 tbs sugar (this is really to taste-you make it with more or less)

2-3tsp garlic

2-3tsp Italian seasoning

Mix all ingredients together, you may want to add more seasonings, it’s really personal preference when it comes to marinara sauces-I like mine rather sweet!

*This will make enough for both pizzas, as well as marinara sauce for the cheesy garlic bread.

CHEESY GARLIC BREAD

You will need one of the 12″ pizza crusts-you do not need to bake this crust before adding toppings.

1/4 stick melted margarine

mozzarella cheese or Italian cheese blend

garlic powder (yes, I know the real stuff is better-if you have it-use it)

*Cover the entire crust with the melted butter

Sprinkle heavily with garlic powder

Cover entire crust with cheese

bake in 400 degree oven until light golden color

Enjoy your Pizza Feast!!!

I would absolutely love to hear from you!

